• Freshfield Lane Michelmersh Clay Brick
  • Floren Michelmersh MBH PLC Clay facing brick buff
  • mbh plc clay brick red handmade
  • clamp-fired stock facing multi bricks Michelmersh Clay Brick


Michelmersh Brick Holdings PLC

Director Biographies


Martin Warner MSc FRICS, Chairman

Martin Warner formed Michelmersh with the former Chairman Eric Gadsden in 1997 and has served as Chief Executive and subsequently non-executive Chairman from May 2017. Martin is a Fellow of the Royal Institute of Chartered Surveyors and is Chairman of the Brick Development Association. He is a non-executive director of Aberforth Smaller Companies Trust plc.

Frank Hanna Joint Chief Executive

Frank Hanna has over 32 years of brick industry experience. Frank joined Freshfield Lane Brickworks Limited (“FLB”) in 1991 having formerly worked for Lesser D&B and Hanson Brick Ltd. Frank was appointed to the Board of FLB in 1996 as sales and technical director before becoming a shareholder in 2000. He was appointed as a Director of the Company on 30 March 2010 and became Joint Chief Executive on 1 January 2016. Frank has chaired both the Brick Federation and PWP within the Brick Development Association and is currently a main board Director of the Brick Development Association.

Peter Sharp BA(Hons) Cert IoD MIoD Joint Chief Executive

Peter Sharp has been in the industry for over 35 years including 15 years with Michelmersh and 14 years with Ibstock Brick holding various senior positions. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Materials Minerals and Mining and a Member of the Institute of Directors. Peter is also on the Board of the British Ceramic Confederation and serves as a trustee for the Institute of Clay Workers Benevolent Fund and the Institute of Clay Technology Education and Training Trust. He joined the Board in May 2011 and became Joint Chief Executive on 1 January 2016.

Ryan Mahoney, BSc, FCA, Chief Financial Officer

Ryan was appointed as Chief Financial Officer on 3 June 2021. Prior to joining the Company, he was previously Deputy Chief Financial Officer of Avon Protection, the FTSE 250 defence engineering and manufacturing group, from April 2018. Prior to that Ryan had been Group Financial Controller for Unite Students, the FTSE 250 property group, from November 2015 having previously held other senior finance roles within the business. Ryan is a qualified Chartered Accountant and prior to joining Unite, Ryan worked for KPMG in both audit and advisory roles.

Tony Morris, Non-Executive Director

Tony is the Co-Founder and a Director of Tessera Investment Management, a strategic advisory firm offering specialist transaction support to organisations undertaking corporate development activity. Prior to Tessera, Tony spent four years in the investment team at Marwyn Capital, an investment firm, having previously started his career within Leveraged Finance at Barclays Bank. Tony has significant experience as principal and advisor in M&A, equity capital markets and implementing controls and financial practices within organisations, all skills which the Directors believe will assist the Company as it continues to grow organically and through acquisition in the future. Tony was also formerly a non-executive director of Summerway Capital Plc.

Paula Hay-Plumb, Non-Executive Director

Paula has extensive directorship experience and has sat on the Board of a number of prominent organisations in the property sector. Paula currently is a Commissioner and Non-Executive Board member of The Crown Estate, the £14.4 billion UK real estate business, and is a Trustee of Calthorpe Estates. In addition, Paula is a Non-Executive Director at Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and is a trustee of the Mineworkers’ Pension Scheme. In her executive career, Paula was Corporate Finance and Group Reporting Director at Marks & Spencer Plc, and Chief Executive of national regeneration agency English Partnerships. Paula is a Chartered Accountant (ACA) and is a Fellow of the Association of Corporate Treasurers.



Copyright Michelmersh 2022 | Legal | Cookie Policy | Michelmersh Brick Holdings PLC (registered number 03462378)
Freshfield Lane, Danehill, Haywards Heath, West Sussex RH17 7HH